Odd Expobar Office Lever behavior -- any explanation?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
RNAV

#1: Post by RNAV »

I've experienced some odd behavior from my Expobar Office Lever that I'm hoping some more knowledgeable folks might be able to explain to me (I'm a former auto mechanic and enjoy learning how things work and why). I'd been meaning to descale my machine for a few months, but a recent move delayed that. I just performed a complete descale of the boiler and the HX system, and noted the following weird things.

Weird thing #1: after the move, using the same grinder and the same espresso, I had to grind noticeably finer in order to achieve the same ~2.5-3.0 oz in 25-30 sec. Randomly this past week, without adjusting anything, my shots began pulling very short (~1.0-1.5 oz in 30 sec). I adjusted my grind coarser, and wound up with a setting that was what I had been using previously prior to the move. FYI, I'm using a nearly new Compak K3 Touch grinder. So what's up with the random shot volumes? Did my pump decide to momentarily get stronger?

Weird thing #2: prior to the descale, I'd noticed a slight reduction in initial cooling flush water temp, combined with noticeably increased recovery time and continually dropping temperatures throughout the shot (the shot would start with temps around 204-205F, then end at 196F 30 sec later). I attributed this to scale build up. So I descaled everything, and even removed the mushroom and found the gliceur chamber to be relatively scale-free. After the descale, I experienced even lower initial temps, even longer recovery times, and even more temperature degradation throughout the shot. This result seems to be the exact opposite of what should have happened by descaling my machine. So what's up with that?