ECM Technika IV Profi vs. Mechanika IV Profi

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
polysicks

#1: Post by polysicks »

Hi! I've been enjoying my espresso and browsing this site for a couple years, finally leading to thoughts of trading in Silvia for something with a lil' more oomph. I haven't been able to find a comparison of these models on the forums, and couldn't piece together clear distinctions from the manufacturer website, so thought I'd throw the question out to the cognoscenti.

I'm having a hard time figuring out distinguishing features between the ECM Mechanika and Technika IV Profi switchables. Is it largely cosmetic (rounded edges, cup holder tray)? A matter of build quality? Distinct internals?

Sadly there is no distributor in my part of Canada (Halifax, Nova Scotia) so it's not possible to see them in person.

NeedBeans

#2: Post by NeedBeans »

I have no direct experience with either machine, but some quick poking around via Google showed:

Technika IV Profi - Switchable tank/plumbed operation; rotary pump; pressure adjustment inside machine (1st-line)
Mechanika IV Profi - Appears to be tank only; vibratory pump; pressure adjustment accessible from top of machine with case closed (Bella Barista, Additional Info tab (UK base vendor))

Size and weight appear to be identical between the two. Keep in mind that the UK vendor may have a different machine than is available in North America even though they are named the same (in addition to 220v vs 110v difference).

Just some quick observations, you may be able to find some more info from these two sites.

Happy hunting!

Paul
"Experience is simply the name we give our mistakes." —Oscar Wilde

Advertisement
polysicks (original poster)

#3: Post by polysicks (original poster) »

Thanks!

I think that's only partly correct though :wink:

On their website,http://www.ecm.de, you can see the listed tech specs for each model.