Trouble with level tamp of single basket

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
log4n

#1: Post by log4n »

Hello, friends of good coffee :) ,

as a newbie here I'm having a problem right away that I hope to get some help with:
I have had my VBM Double PID / Mazzer Mini-e combination for roughly two years now. So far, I have almost exclusively made only double espressos, simply because I find the basket easier to handle and nobody here has had a problem with the additional coffee in the cup. ;) Now, for smaller cappuccinos (and to make use of my beautiful thick Italian style cups, which are too small for doppios) I have decided to finally learn to handle the single basket, in my case a La Marzocco LM1.
Now, thanks to a funnel I have no problem filling only the deeper center of the basket, and I also have a 41mm tamper. The problem, however, is: No matter what I do, the puck is always elevated on one side, I never seem to be able to tamp level enough. I have tried various things, including WDT, NSEW technique, different combinations of grind coarseness and tamping pressure. Nothing has helped. The result is that always, about 15 (20, if it's a better one) into the extraction, the espresso starts to splash into the cup, the jet is not in the center anymore, but shifts a little to one side. The more even and less elevated the puck is to one side, the better the extraction was. So the levelness of the tamp is evidently the cause of the problem. For a hint to the solution, I'm counting on you guys. ;)

Best regards,
log4n

kwantfm

#2: Post by kwantfm »