Good Buy?: Used Nuova Simonelli MAC2000 Espresso Machine and MDX Grinder

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
mike_h

#1: Post by mike_h »

My local Craigslist has a used Nuova Simonelli MAC2000 Espresso Machine and MDX Grinder for sale for $1000USD. Seller says, "Machine and grinder work great and I will include a couple extras (Rancilio bottomless portafilter with triple basket, tamper, brush, etc.)." In a subsequent email to him I asked whether either machine needed any work. His reply was, "The machine might need a descaling but I'm not certain. It hasn't been used in a while so it would probably be a good idea."

It's 110v and it needs to be plumbed, but I would like to hear your thoughts on:
1. Is this a good deal?
2. I'm new to espresso. Would I be asking for trouble trying to start out on a machine like this?
3. If I bought it and decided to just keep the grinder and sell the machine, how much should the machine go for alone?

Thanks for any input you may have.

- Mike

Chad C.

#2: Post by Chad C. »

If the seller can demonstrate that the machine is in good working order, and that the grinder has sharp burrs, it's not a bad deal. Otherwise you're taking a risk. There's enough help on this board to get you through most of what might go wrong with such equipment, and there's a lot of help for the preparation of espresso drinks here too.

If you have a background in '80's vintage pinball machines and triple chamber water pipes, this might be the hobby for you : )

DanoM

#3: Post by DanoM »

I'm always wary of unknown and untested equipment. If he can demonstrate to you that it works: heats up to steam pressure, pulls water through group, perhaps even run a trash shot to see if the pump works while testing the grinder with some old store coffee. Make sure you test all the buttons.