Time from roasted to shipped for coffee from online retailers

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
SaveFerris

#1: Post by SaveFerris »

I'm sure for a lot of you, this is a total newbie question. When you buy roasted beans from an online retailer (Madcap and Intelligentsia are the ones I'm looking at specifically), how long from the moment they are roasted to the moment they are shipped?

I've never bought coffee from an online retailer before, but after a small handful of less-than-stellar interactions at the coffee shop I go to locally, I've decided it's time to start supporting a different company. To me, coffee tastes between between 2 and 14 days from the moment it was roasted, and it usually takes me about 9-12 days to work through a 12 oz bag. So I'd hate to buy from an online retailer that has roasted 5+ days before it arrives in my mailbox.

Any input is greatly appreciated.

JmanEspresso

#2: Post by JmanEspresso »

The vast majority of top roasters online either roast in the morning and ship that afternoon or they ship the very next morning. As for when the coffee is roasted from when you order, some roasters roast daily, and some only some days a week, but 99% of the time, the coffee is roasted and shipped within a day or two after placing the order.

Pay attention to shipping methods as well. USPS priority is, imo, the best, as its 2-3 days, cross country. Ups and fedex, for the regular ground shipping are usually unable to get coffee from one coast to the other in less than 5 business days, which ends up being as much as 7, because of weekends.

John P

#3: Post by John P »

We only sell by subscription, but we roast the day or evening before and ship the following morning via USPS Priority. In my experience, most reputable roasters ship within 1 day of roasting. Either it's based on when you order, or some only roast on specific days, and ship immediately from there.
John Piquet
Salt Lake City, UT
caffedbolla.com