Pitcher sizes to buy?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
flipteg

#1: Post by flipteg »

hi, i'm still new at making espresso but lately, i'm really starting to get into latte art. i notice that it is very important for the pitcher spout to get close to the surface as soon as possible. my 20oz Smart Pitcher and our 12oz cappuccino cups do not allow the spout to get close to the surface until the cup is almost full. we typically only drink a single shot cappuccino so the total volume in the cup is only around 7 to 8 oz. there's still a bit of exposed cup rim that prevents the pitcher spout from getting close to the surface.

in my quest to improve my latte art, i ordered a set of 2 6oz cappuccino cups for our single shot milk drinks. i also ordered a 12oz and a 16oz Motta pitchers. the reason for the 12oz pitcher is because i use the single basket a lot for times when i want to drink coffee but she doesn't. on my current 20oz pitcher, i find it very hard to steam 5-6oz of milk since my Silvia's steam tip would barely reach the surface of the milk. it is workable but i find since i have to tilt the pitcher too much to one side, i don't get as much control and i can't get the consistency i get when i'm steaming for 2 drinks.

after placing the order for the Motta's, i'm second guessing myself. it seems 12oz and 16oz is a bit close in size with probably less than an inch difference in height. i know that i'll definitely use the 16oz pitcher for 2 servings of milk but how easy is it to steam 5oz in the 16oz Motta? will the 8oz Motta server me better than the 12oz version for steaming 5oz?

cannonfodder
Team HB

#2: Post by cannonfodder »