Single basket size too big for 8g espresso dose?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
davebm

#1: Post by davebm »

Hi guys,

This is my first post, been reading this site for years but never signed up.

6 months ago I got myself a Rocket espresso machine, I have been making coffee (except espresso) for over 12 years now and finally was in the right position to get myself this beauty.

I have one small question (which I have googled extensively but havent found an exact answer) - After going quite a bit of reading on recommended dosing of coffee (single espresso shot) to be 8grams - however when I put that quantity in my single espresso pf basket it doesnt seem to extract nicely at all.

Should the grind be finer or should I just add more grams and make the grind a little more coarse?

One last Q: The water coming out of the machine is very metallic tasting - using filtered water. Think it needs a descale?

algue

#2: Post by algue »

Hi
Welcome on board
I think that most people in this forum mainly uses double filter.
Actually double filter is easier to set up and allows probably better results.
I frequently use also single basket, though, and my dose is always close to 8g. Sometimes slightly less and sometimes slightly more.
In some cases and with some coffees I filled up to 9g, with a slightly coarser grind.

But I do not understand: as your title is claiming that single basket is too small, how can you think to grind coarser adding more coffee?

Alberto

davebm (original poster)

#3: Post by davebm (original poster) »

Hi,

Sorry, I meant its too big for 8g espresso - i find myself having to use more coffee to get the pour right. (reglardless of how fine)

I will try the double basket with 8 grams as it is flat bottomed and not so much channeled as the single basket is.

another_jim
Team HB

#4: Post by another_jim »