Different size gigleurs on 2Gp Brasillia Portofino

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
ted2013

#1: Post by ted2013 »

Hi I am a newbie to HB from Australia.

Our main machine is a Diadema Junior Plus 1 Gp Hx which I gather is sold as a La Valentina in the US.

I recently bought a 1997 Brasillia Portofino 2Gp Semiauto at a local auction which I was able to get back into action after a serious descale, replacement of various gaskets and shower screens etc. This one has the Brasillia Type 1 groups which predate the E61. The curious thing about this machine is that it has different gigleurs (jets) in the top of each of the groups. The first has what I believe is standard with what I believe is a 0.8mm jet. The second group appears to have been drilled out and tapped to fit a larger gigleur with a smaller jet (I suspect 0.6mm).

The machine works fine but the first group (0.8mm gigleur) appears to produce much more crema.

I have a number of questions about this.

1. I assume the machine has been modded. Can anyone give a clue as to why anyone would do this?

2. Is the reason why we can get much better crema on the first group because the jet size is optimized to the machine or is it to do with our technique (eg do we need to let it run longer on the second group) etc?

The machine seems to operating perfectly in all other respects with the gauge reading about 9 bar while making a shot.

I can easily drill out the second gigleur to 0.8mm if that is the thing to do but my instinct is that there may be a valid reason why a previous owner would do this to the machine.