Starting and Switching Off Rancilio Silvia

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
imagiam

#1: Post by imagiam »

I received my Rancilio Silvia yesterday. Would anyone know how to turn it off appropriately after use? I have searched all available material and can't seem to locate clear instructions. Do I need to empty the water from the tank each time? Or can I just quick flush the group, wipe and switch off the power (leaving the water in the tank)? And then, so when I restart the machine, do I immediately turn on the pump and open the steam wand until water comes out (while the machine is cold and just starting to warm up), or do I perform that task after heating the machine before I am ready to make the shot? Thanks for any help! :D

tburres

#2: Post by tburres »

I am fairly new to espresso myself and have had a Silvia for almost two years. For startup, I have a timer so it is warmed up when I get to it in the morning. Search on "cheating miss silvia" to find some good info on startup. I don't empty the tank except for cleaning weekly, otherwise I fill as part of each use so I don't run it empty. I do mostly milk drinks, so after I pull the shot, I turn on the the steam switch and do a quick flush then let it heat up for steaming. That way, when I am done making the drink, I am cleaned up and ready to enjoy. I don't leave it on all day so I shut down and get to work.

Advertisement
Mochamaker

#3: Post by Mochamaker »