Pitcher vs. Latte Art. Style of Pitcher Can HELP?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
BigBlaze

#1: Post by BigBlaze »

I have a small Toroid pitcher.
I have to say, latte art is not easy. It is not about the micro foam, it is more the pouring technique that need improvement!

Does the pitcher has a effect on latte art?
Different style of pitcher have different spout, I guess this can make in difference.

At the WBC, what kind of pitcher are they using?

Thank you,

BigBlaze

IntrepidQ3

#2: Post by IntrepidQ3 »

I am rather new at this, but I have experimented with two different style pitchers and have noticed a huge difference in ability to do latte art. Mind you that I do not pour the best art, but its still exciting to some design happening rather than just an accumulate blob of white foam. It is important to be able to get microfoam though, you will get a blob of white foam without microfoam no matter the style of pitcher you have.

The first pitch I used I had just laying around the house. Not sure when we got it, but it was before my interest sparked with espresso. Not sure the brand name but it looked rather similar to this krups:

It has the wide lip, but with a very small spout. This did not work well for me at all. After looking around I found that this style is not suggested for art pouring.

I than ordered a RattleWare 12oz pitcher:

This has a more defined spout and provides a more concentrated pour. This has made all the difference for me. If what I found from a google search on the pitcher you have, it seems to me that you have a good style pitcher. Again, I am new at this so take what I say with a grain assault. This is just what I have noticed from my experience in the past month.