Can you ID my steam wand?

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
bamaster

#1: Post by bamaster »

I received my new Rocket R58 yesterday and I'm just now getting to play with it. I thought it came with a no-burn steam arm. After steaming some milk today, I noticed the wand is pretty darn hot. This can't be a no-burn. It even came with those little black plastic wand-clips. Same with my hot water wand. Here's a pic.

Is this a different wand?

TomC
Team HB

#2: Post by TomC »

Unscrew the tip and look for the white teflon tube. A picture alone won't be very helpful.
Join us and support Artisan Roasting Software=https://artisan-scope.org/donate/

bamaster (original poster)

#3: Post by bamaster (original poster) »

Didn't even think about that. Take a look.

Looks to be a red tube. It's my first time with a wand like this. I was expecting it to be warm, but not this warm! Hehe

Meanwhile, I swapped out the tip from the 2-hole 1.5mm to the 1.2mm. The machine also came with a 4-hole 0.9mm tip. Might try that next.

Thanks for your help!

TomC
Team HB

#4: Post by TomC »

Most "no-burn" wands have a narrower internal tube, which is why yours is hotter than what you'd think in a "no-burn" wand. I'd imagine Rocket was looking to eliminate some of the spitting that is commonly found with other versions, due to the trapped water and condensation that occurs. Both of which can be eliminated by just purging the wand well before use. The Rocket likely has better steaming power than other "no-burn" wands because of this.