Slow roasting on a Gene Cafe

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
StevensCoffee

#1: Post by StevensCoffee »

Hi there

I am the happy owner of a Gene Cafe coffee roaster. I have been roasting for about 2 years now, but have never been able to totally understand the "secrets" of the perfect roast. I understand that "the perfect roast" depends on personal taste an so, but i do think that a slow roast must be the ideal thing - or not?

I only roast coffee for filter brewing such as the v60, Chemex, Syphon and the mighty Aeropress.

I have tried many roast profiles, sadly no profile has ever resultet in beens nearly as tastefull as those i buy at my local roaster. Also, the profiles that people post around, typically aims at espresso-roast.

I always preheat the Gene, drying the beans for at 150C for about 5 minutes, and i cool external.

What do you guys do? What profile do you navigate around? I understand that no beans should be roastet the same way, but some sort of basic profile would be ideal.

Thank you so much.

Boldjava

#2: Post by Boldjava »

I have about 7 years on the Gene. I run it up to 350* to preheat with an E stop and add beans.

I roast at 464* through the start of 1st crack. (Setting varies with elevation at which bean was grown). At 1:00 past that start, I reduce the temp to 459* and take a roast to 2:30, 2:45, and 3:00 post initial 1st cracks and cup the differences in profiling. Note: I cool externally with a shop vac set-up.

Buy five pounds of a Guat, Colombian, or Costa Rican and vary your profiling. Cup until you find your sweet spot.

Note: Have two Genes. Temps are approx only as one runs hotter than the other at the same temp setting.
-----
LMWDP #339

JavaMD
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by JavaMD »

I roast on a Gene.

preheat to 325 F
E stop and drop in 227 gm of beans and warm them at 300 for 2 - 3 minutes