Do you guys track your espresso shots?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
badperson

#1: Post by badperson »

Just wondering what type of notes/tracking you guys do for your espresso shots and if you find it helpful. I'm actually writing a web app to do that now (only running locally at home) and I'm curious if there are standard methods for flavor categories, or what info in general you guys(gender neutral :mrgreen: ) find helpful in terms of learning from what you have done previously.

DanoM

#2: Post by DanoM »

I do track my weight & grind settings between machines and bean varieties, jot that down on a small notebook taped inside a cupboard door. So a quick check and I can dial in the grinder quite quickly.

If a particular blend works better at higher or lower temps I jot that down on it's note page too.

Other than that I generally don't track anything other than to make adjustments based on the last shot. I'm still learning stable extractions on the La Pavoni though, so I probably should be taking better notes to hone my skills.
LMWDP #445

Marshall

#3: Post by Marshall »

I do the same, except:
I use my grinder timer setting as a proxy for weight
I also record temperature
And I keep the notes on my computer.
Marshall
Los Angeles

sqroot3

#4: Post by sqroot3 »

In a little notebook, I jot down blend, date roasted, date frozen and unfrozen if applicable, dose, grind setting, brew temperature, extraction time, extraction mass or volume, and taste. Helps a lot to get the ballpark when initially dialing in a grinder with a blend I haven't purchased in a few weeks!

LaDan

#5: Post by LaDan »

I know I am suppose to log and track my shots, and I've done it in the beginning, when I started this "hobby".