Milk is literally boiling when I try to steam

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Michelle86

#1: Post by Michelle86 »

Hi

I am a newbie to making coffee and lattes but however I bought an Oscar Simonelli and i am not sure what I am doing wrong but the steam wand doesnt froth the milk, it starts off fine but then after a few seconds it starts to boil the milk like big boiling bubbles - why is it doing that?

Is it the milk? I was using 2% low fat milk?

Is the steamer too hot?

When I then try and bring the tip of the wand towards the surface it shoots little droplets of milk out the jug.

Any help would be appreciated.

Randy G.

#2: Post by Randy G. »

EspressoMyEspresso.com - 2000-2023 - a good run, its time is done

Burner0000

#3: Post by Burner0000 »

Watch and learn from the video Randy posted. This will help you. The OSCAR produces a lot of steam so you will be steaming up to temp very quickly. RIGHT off the bat try starting the steaming deep in the milk and raising to the top until you hear the faint hissing noises then move it around until you find the sweet spot where the milk starts to swirl.
Roast it, Grind it, Brew it!.. Enjoy it!..

Randy G.

#4: Post by Randy G. »

Burner0000 wrote:RIGHT off the bat try starting the steaming deep in the milk and raising to the top until you hear the faint hissing noises then move it around until you find the sweet spot where the milk starts to swirl.
Also, use more milk, and place the pitcher in the freezer for three to five minutes to drop the temperature of the milk. This will extend the time you have to steam it while learning. After you get the hang of it this will not be necessary.
EspressoMyEspresso.com - 2000-2023 - a good run, its time is done

allon

#5: Post by allon »

Is it actually boiling or just bubbling a lot?
If you can't hold the pitcher by the bottom, it's too hot. If you can, it isn't boiling.
LMWDP #331

DanoM

#6: Post by DanoM »