Local Roasters

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
wtmcgowin

#1: Post by wtmcgowin »

I am new to the espresso world, but have been an avid coffee drinker (moka pot and french press mostly) for decades. I live in a fairly small city (Mobile, AL), but we are near New Orleans, and so we get a New Orleans influence. In other words, the people here won't settle for mediocre food/coffee/drink.

What surprises me is this. My city of 200,000 or so has three excellent roasters within 20 minutes of my house. One in particular (Serda's) knows as much about roasting and beans as any place I have ever been. When I go in there the owner or one of his roasters (he has two) will corner me about some excellent beans they were able to find, etc., etc. These people know their coffee and could rival the Seattle places. The two other roasters in town (Carpe Diem and Coffee Loft) are also good, but Serda's is superior.

So when I read what other people post on here, talking about ordering online or (gulp) going to Starbucks, I am surprised. Am I that fortunate? I cannot believe my little city is that progressive. Maybe it is.

Chert

#2: Post by Chert »

Can you elaborate a bit about Carpe Diem, The Loft and Serda's as you've experienced them?

When I visit Mobile I bring my own beans and brew device of some kind since in previous trips I found that Carpe Diem and Satori Sound, while nice venues, were not preparing the coffee the way I enjoy it these days. If I run out of beans I check The Fresh Market ( Airport at MacGregor) for Counter Culture or other fresh roast with little success.
LMWDP #198

wtmcgowin (original poster)

#3: Post by wtmcgowin (original poster) replying to Chert »