Seeking advice for a new home espresso machine with $1200-2000 budget

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Emericajosh

#1: Post by Emericajosh »

Hello everyone! I'm new to HB but have enjoyed looking around the forums and reviews for a little while, but I look forward to posting more in the future.

My current budget for an espresso machine is 1200-2000, but I'm hoping to stay lower closer to 1200 if possible. This is not counting a grinder as I've set aside 400 for one and have been checking craigslist daily. I'm pretty much sold on a Mazzer Mini or a super jolly, though I was wondering what is an ideal price to look for in a used Mazzer?

As for an espresso machine, I'm leaning towards a Dual boiler, though I am open for HX suggestions as well. I'm looking for a machine that has good steaming capabilities as practicing Latte art is important to me. I'm a fan of the Italian machines but I'm open to other options as well.

-Thanks for your time, Josh.

jfrescki

#2: Post by jfrescki »

Josh, two points.

1) I don't think anyone will disagree that the SJ gives better results in the cup than the Mini, so if space isn't your concern, I'd go with a SJ first any day. The Mini-e does use the larger 64mm burr set, but it's not the same as the SJ's. There are mods to put the SJ burr set in the Mini-e if you don't mind modding.

2) Other than the Breville Dual boiler which can be had for around $1,000, less when caught on sale, DBs are going to be on the upper end of your price range, with the QM67 coming in at $1,899 and Mini Vivaldi at $1,995 without the pre-infusion option. I think all the other full DBs on the market (ie not DB with thermoblock like the Silvano) are well over $2,000.

DB or HX of course has been talked to death. It's personal preference. I'd say keep in mind looks and features because you're going to look at and live with any machine in this price range for a long time. Of course budget at least $100 for accesories.

John