What is wrong with this bottomless portafilter shot

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
therabidweasel

#1: Post by therabidweasel »

Hello Everyone,

After lurking here for a few years on and off I've decided to take the plunge and open myself up to (hopefully) constructive criticism. I've been roasting for about 6 years and switched from a Rocky/Krups to Rocky/Vetrano and am currently K30 Vario/Vetrano during that same time period. The video below is very typical of what my setup produces and I'd like for you guys to pick it apart in hopes of figuring out how to tweak it further. I havent found anything that makes this better, only things that make it worse in terms of distribution and tamp. I can get radical differences in flavor depending on flush length (I track peak temperature during the pull), but nothing seems to improve the initial beading uniformity, which is the major problem I see. I rarely see tiger striping with this coffee, maybe that is an issue as well. Also, since I've started using the K30 I rarely stop a shot for blonding, I typically stop it for volume, as I do in this instance. Although, some blonding was beginning to occur. Here are the nitty gritty details:

Coffee: Hottop Roasted SM New Classic Blend at full city, degassed in refrigerator for 7 days
Dosed directly into 18g ridgeless VST basket removed from PF, rotated 360 to form an ~18-19g pile in the center. Tapped twice, unweighted nutation, then tamped straight down with an Espro tamper. Peak temperature indicated at the group was 206.5. At the end of the pull it is 202-203. In the interest of full disclosure, my water source is RO+DI nearing a filter change at 280 TDS. Pressure gauge is visible in the shot, I apologize for the lighting. *deep breath* out through the mouth, and here you go :oops: :

TheSunInsideYou

#2: Post by TheSunInsideYou »