Too Sour Espresso Shot.

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
OctagonCoffee

#1: Post by OctagonCoffee »

Hi. It has been few days since I started brewing with my new La Pavoni, and I am trying to figure out how I can achieve a great shot with it. I think I have pulled about 10-15 shots already and I know it is not that many, but I would like to know why my shots are really sour and salty. My very first attempt, I got really really sour shot and it was not even drinkable. The crema was thin and had light color. So I change things like grind setting, dose, and tamping pressure (not temperature though).

Just note that I use Hario Hand Grinder, and it seems like doing the job although it might not be as consistent as it should be. I use the grind setting of 2-3 clicks from the finest. I consider the grinder as one of the problem but I think there are other reasons to those sour and salty shots. Other note is that my coffee beans are roasted about 5 days ago, and I am using Kenyan bean, and it is roasted about Full City Plus. The final note is that I am not using the plastic tamper that came with the machine. I bought 51mm tamper since my model is newer and uses 51mm or 52 mm portafilter.

So I couldn't really find any difference from by changing dose from 15g to 12g. I found a lot of difference from how strong I tamped and how fine the grounds are. When I tamped lightly it comes out quickly (of course) with thin crema (almost no crema) and not sour but thin taste as well. When I tamped heavily It comes out with good crema (not thick though) but really sour and salty taste. Too sour that it gives me a chill. Also more coarser grind, more thin taste I get, more finer grind, more sour and salty taste.

I have also done the technique called fellini move (sorry if the spelling is wrong) and it seemed like when I have done fellini, the shot became more sour than when I haven't. Also I found that the puck breaks when I have done fellini move.