Rocket HX losing steam pressure

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Hooah

#1: Post by Hooah »

Hi everyone!

I'm fairly new to Espresso (only at it a year) but I've been reading all of your amazing stories, suggestions, tips and recommendations since I registered. I've searched for answers to my issue and have tried to fix the problem in several steps but it's a persistent bastard.

Rocket Cellini Evo V2, bought used over 6 months ago here in Germany. It's been working fine until a few weeks ago, when pulling a double shot while steaming the pressure drops to .5
Nothing has changed over the last 6 months. Same water, same electrical plugs, same warm up time, same everything.
So I bumped up the pressure from the stock 1.1 to 1.3bar and though I saw a slight improvement in steaming but the cooling flush was 3 times longer than before. And yes I purge the steam wand and wait for the heating element to kick in and start raising before I pull the shot and start steaming.

So I pulled the mushroom and it looked brand new.
Pulled the water level probe and it was pretty clean but I used a green pad anyways.
Pulled the safety valve today and looked inside the boiler for scale, barely any but I used some citric acid to take care of that.
Flushed several times, warmed up for 45 min and made my typical 2 cappuccini. Still dropped to .5 towards the end of steaming.

Espresso and cappuccino taste good so no HX heating problems, and it has the original 2 hole steam tip installed. I'm just at a dead end and hope someone can give me a tip of what to check next. I want to fix it before I sell her in the next few months get a lever :)
Thanks for any help!
Dan

h3yn0w

#2: Post by h3yn0w »

Boiler fill probe faulty or scaled? Just guessing as maybe the water level in the boiler is not where it should be. Is the boiler filling while you are steaming?