Rancilio Silvia / Rocky owner needs advice on better extraction

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
bosh

#1: Post by bosh »

Hi all,
I could sure use some advise from the knowledgeable folks on this forum.
I have a Rancilio Silvia / Rocky combo and I've been struggling to get a good extraction. I've read through this site extensively and watched the entire library of how to videos here and on youtube.
I just can't get an extraction to last more than around 15 seconds before blonding or overfilling my 2 one ounce glasses.
I've tried fresh beans from Counter Culture (Toscano, Aficionado, Rustico), and Major D from Peet's, bought from one of their shops (roaster is about an hour from my home) to no avail.
I have my Rocky grinder adjusted all the way down to "1" and the coffee looks to be ground very fine, but I have no prior experience to judge from.
I checked the "zero" on the grinder and the burrs touch right at 0 on the indicator so that seems OK.
I've tried different doses, at first my coffee puck was hitting the shower screen so I reduced the amount but that had minimal effect.
I've tried different tamp pressures from light to well over 100 lbs and the result is the same (short extraction time).
Starting to think there may be something wrong with my equipment but not sure what it could be.

I have a bottomless portafilter on order, maybe that will tell more.

Any advice would be appreciated
:mrgreen:

Dave B.

Advertisement
malachi

#2: Post by malachi »

As a general rule, if you are getting 2oz (or more) in less than around 22s you need to tighten the grind.

After that we can talk about distribution, dosing, etc.
What's in the cup is what matters.

Randy G.

#3: Post by Randy G. »