Newbie trouble with bottomless portafilter spray

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Garzlack

#1: Post by Garzlack »

OK...total newbie question. :oops:

Just bought an Izzo Duetto III and Baratza Vario grinder. Pulled my first shots with a bottomless portafilter. Not only did the shots pull too fast, but brew sprayed out of the portafilter in multiple directions!!! What am I doing wrong. Here are the specs:

Bean: Stumptown Hair Bender
Portafilter: Bottomless, Double Basket
Grind Setting (on Baratza Vario): 1G
Grind Weight in Portafilter: 20g
Boiler Pressure and Temp: 9bar, 200 degrees F

I am not a total newbie as I have used a Silvia for years and know what 30 pounds of tamping pressure feels like.

What possibly could be going wrong?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Gary

TomC
Team HB

#2: Post by TomC »

Hold old is the coffee?

Tamping pressure doesn't translate into pretty extractions or perfect extractions. It sounds like when I try to dial in a coffee that's too fresh. I don't know Vario grind settings, or how well they even hold to the numeric values you quoted. You can try cutting your dose slightly, fining up the grind and see if that helps.
Join us and support Artisan Roasting Software=https://artisan-scope.org/donate/

Beezer

#3: Post by Beezer »

Assuming your beans are fresh, it could be a problem with bad distribution of coffee, or maybe an excessively large dose that's causing the puck to hit the shower screen, or maybe just too coarse of a grind.

I have the Duetto II and the Vario, so a very similar setup to yours. I normally try to dose about 18 grams with a Synesso double basket, which generally produces a nice even extraction. I find that it's not usually necessary to do much to redistribute the grounds, just shake the PF and level, then tamp. The Vario tends to produce a nice, non-clumpy grind.