Newbie getting very sour espresso

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
NZTim

#1: Post by NZTim »

Hello all,

I'm new to making espresso coffee so I've been reading tutorials and doing some experimentation but found myself a bit stuck. My objective at this stage is only to produce something drinkable - hopefully this bar is not set too high!

I've managed to set the grind so that the machine pours around 60ml in 25-30 seconds using a full basket. The problem I find is that the resulting coffee is very sour. I've tried it with more than one kind of coffee, even pre-ground 'practice' coffee and it's always the same.

The recommendation for this issue on the Espresso 101 page is to make the grind finer with the same dose, however won't this slow the flow and cause too little coffee to be extracted? In any case I've tried it, got about 2/3rds of the volume of coffee in 30 seconds and the taste was similar.

Elsewhere I see advice to dump the first few seconds of the pour, to lose the most acidic part of the shot. This actually improves the taste but I suspect there is likely to be a better way.

My understanding is very limited, so if you could just point me in the right direction I would be very grateful. Thanks :)

damonbowe

#2: Post by damonbowe »

You need to make the grind coarser OR allow the shot to go for longer. Keep in mind that a single second makes a big difference. I am posting a chart below. Horizontally, on the left is sour and the right is bitter, and you want to hit that sweet spot in the middle with respect to the best TDS% for whatever coffee you are using today.

1. try to just let the shot go a bit longer first (try 5 seconds, then 3, then whatever you think will work).
2. consider adjusting the grind slightly coarser. Repeat until flavor is balanced.

another_jim
Team HB

#3: Post by another_jim »