Microfoam with Bellman Stovetop Steamer

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
outdoor

#1: Post by outdoor »

OK I'm very new to Coffee and Latte. I have an Aeropress, Hakia slim mill hand grinder and Bellman stovetop steamer.

I've attempted to make microfoam so that I can make simple latte art. But I think my foam is a bit too thick. I heatup the bellman until steam comes from the valve, take cold skim milk from fridge put wand just under surface until i hear a little hiss adding a bit of air, the milk is swirling around. Once it hits 100 i lower wand and wait till it reaches 140. It seems too thick though and does not push any brown up just white on top, so no contrast to make latte art.

spressomon

#2: Post by spressomon »

If the resulting milk foam is too stiff try moving the steam wand deeper in the milk sooner...
No Espresso = Depresso

SpromoSapiens

#3: Post by SpromoSapiens »

Another factor is that there's not really much crema in a cup brewed from the Aeropress. The Aeropress makes a delicious cup of coffee, but despite what the box says, I wouldn't call it espresso. Without significant crema there's not much hope for latte art.

Skim is also slightly more challenging than whole or other milks. To texture milk with a proper latte-style ratio of foam to milk, only the tiniest bit of aeration is required on a professional machine; signifcantly less than other milks. I've never used a bellman, but as spressomon stated, it sounds like you're over-aerating. It helps to plunge the tip and get some swirling action first, then graze the surface with just one or two little "pfft!" of air, then re-plunge and let the swirling action incorporate that air into a velvetty texture as the temp comes up.

Better art also tends to be easier at the lower end of the temp range.

jontyc

#4: Post by jontyc »