Looking for feedback on improving my espresso

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
bctgrad

#1: Post by bctgrad »

I'm a real newbie to espresso. I've loved coffee for years, roast my own beans and have dozens of brewing apparati but I was always intimidated by the thought of trying espresso at home. About six months ago I found a used Starbucks Barista cheap so I bought it to try out. Couldn't get anything good to come out of it so I started looking for a grinder. I found a coffee shop liquidation auction and won a Macap MX in excellent condition. The Barista did a better job with the new grinder, but I wanted something better. Then I found a Rancilio Silvia on my local CL for $70 the day after Christmas. I know a lot of you on here don't like the Silvia, but I couldn't pass this one up (and as cheap as it was, I knew I could upgrade it). I bought it, PID'd it and got a bottomless portafilter.

Still trying to figure this whole thing out and thought I'd ask you all to tell me what the video shows about what I'm doing right and wrong. I get fairly consistent shots at around 30 seconds, but I'm not sure if someone who knows what to look for can see something wrong in the video.

This was the third shot I've done with the new portafilter, the first two looked pretty similar.

I really like the taste of the lattes that I'm getting from the machine and even squeaked out some resemblance of art the other night (my wife said it looks like a leaf in a snowstorm), but I know it can be better. Your feedback would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Brian

Randy G.

#2: Post by Randy G. »

You got a great setup at an even better price.
The grind may be just a little too fine (the slow start) and/or the burrs somewhat worn and in need of replacement..
BUT, how does the espresso taste straight (no milk)?
EspressoMyEspresso.com - 2000-2023 - a good run, its time is done

gingi

#3: Post by gingi »