Latte art, marshmallow issue

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
shmakdoz

#1: Post by shmakdoz »

Hey Guys

new to the forum. I've been practicing latte art for a few months now and looking for tips for consistent milk frothing/micro foam. Sometimes the milk comes out good enough for me to make a decent design (still practicing) and sometimes I just make marshmallows.

I've posted some pics below. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

CoffeeBar

#2: Post by CoffeeBar »

it looks better than mine. shame on my latte art :oops:

Advertisement
shmakdoz (original poster)

#3: Post by shmakdoz (original poster) »

Hey coffeebar,

From what I'm gathering, it's all in the milk.... I just haven't figured it out yet

#4: Post by 691175002 »

The dump of foam near the end of a pour indicates too much air, or insufficient integration of the microfoam. Try to be very consistent with the amount of air you add, and work on the roll/swirl. You can sometimes mix microfoam back into the milk by aggressively shaking and tapping the pitcher before pouring as well.

Also, ensure that you are pouring the rosetta from a constant height, sometimes you can unknowingly lower the pitcher spout while tilting it downwards to pour. You can still save a pour even if the milk isn't quite right by altering the height you are pouring from - as soon as it starts blobbing, lift to compensate.

I found that I improved a lot by just "fake pouring" rosettas with plain water into a cup over and over. Carefully watch how consistent the stream is, and ensure that any changes in height are deliberate and controlled.

CoffeeBar

#5: Post by CoffeeBar »

Hi Jay, I cannot help much here. But Here is a good video to explain on how to make a good latte art Newbie Introduction to Espresso - Latte Art [video]

hope this help :D

shmakdoz (original poster)

#6: Post by shmakdoz (original poster) »

Hey Ryan,