Latte art fails

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
ilovecp3

#1: Post by ilovecp3 »

I am really new to latte art. I only have a Nespresso machine and a milk frother. Sometimes I can pour a so-so latte art but for most times I failed. I watched a lot of videos on youtube and it seems that they can very easily pour a latte art. I am wondering whether I should upgrade my equipment or not. I suspect both the espresso and the milk foam quality are not good by using Nespresso and milk frother... Anyone with the same equipment and has successful experiences? Or any suggestions of equipment that is not that expensive (say below $200)? Thanks. Followings are some of the best ones among a lot of failures...

forbeskm

#2: Post by forbeskm »

Quite good for a frother I'd say. There are stovetop steamers and I think there is a console style steamer that only steams I have seen but a little to pricey even on the used market for me.

DaveLSM

#3: Post by DaveLSM »

Better than I've managed with a commercial machine....
La vita e troppo breve per mangiare e bere male.

dmeeusen

#4: Post by dmeeusen »

I've been trying for about two years. Since I only make three lattes each day, I've had about two hours of practice. I bought a Nespresso frother early on and gave up on it rather quickly. The key is to froth the exact amount of air into the milk to get the consistency of latex paint. The Nespresso always put in too much air. The combination that worked for me was an old Gaggia Syncrony that I got free but had to fix (thank you YouTube) and an old $40 Braun that didn't make espresso, but put out a lot of steam.

I used the Gaggia to make the espresso and steamed the milk on the Braun. I can see from your pictures that you have the wrist action down pat, but your milk is too thin. when the milk is the right consistency, the art just seems to pop out on the surface of the creama.

Once you have something that produces a decent amount of steam;