Is it possible to get latte art textured milk from a plunger style frother?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Countduckula

#1: Post by Countduckula »

Hey guys,
I'm new to making coffee. I only have a french press, grinder and a plunger style frother which is basically a steel french press. I don't mind if it's harder this way over using a steamer as I quite like going old-school as I guess I'm weird like that. Besides I keep getting bad results :x
This is what I do:
-I heat the milk to about 65 Celsius on a hob
- I then use the plunger and plunge vigorously (I've experimented with different amounts of force and time of plunging but relatively same results)

However all I seem to get is a very light, bubbly frothy milk. Which just lays up top of the coffee. Rather than a thicker, less bubbly milk which I have seen in multiple youtube videos. Either way I can't practice latte art :cry:

Where am I going wrong?

Is it even possible to get the right milk texture for latte art with a plunger?

hipporun

#2: Post by hipporun »

I've never used what you speak of, so don't take what I say to heart.

I'm thinking not. For real latte art, you need the proper amount of stretching (sounds like paper tearing, this is air being introduced into the milk) then you have to roll the milk (aim wand at an angle, roll and rotate milk to integrate the microfoam into the milk uniformly.) To master all this on a real espresso machine takes time and practice, not sure how you could replicate these stages on plunger style frother:/

spressomon

#3: Post by spressomon »

I was never able to achieve true pourable microfoam using a couple different plunger type (or whirly style) frothers. OTOH they do seem to excel at creating very dry relatively stiff foam...for maybe old/traditional style cappuccinos.