How do you store your coffee beans?

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
ghostchili

#1: Post by ghostchili »

Hello everyone,
I'm just getting into making proper espresso and had a question. How do you properly store your beans after you've opened the sealed bag?

jonny

#2: Post by jonny »

My philosophy is minimize air as best as I can and use the beans within 14 days. If the bag has a zipper, I just leave it in the bag. In the 14 day window, it won't hurt. If the bag is not resealable, I'll either divide it into pint sized mason jars which I'll go through in a few days each. Or just throw the whole bag into a [freezer type] ziplock with the air pushed out each time I open it. The non freezer bags have a strong plastic smell and the seal isn't as good. I don't freeze. I just keep on hand what I'll use usually within a week. I use a hopper on my grinder, so beans that I'll use within 2 days hang out in the hopper. No stale tastes here. Note: My beans are always very light and perhaps more resilient to aging than darker beans, but within that 14 day window in a container that has minimal air and a decent seal, I'm sure they will be good.

Advertisement
iginfect

#3: Post by iginfect »

I store my roasted beans in opaque ceramic jars of this type: http://www.amazon.com/Bormioli-Rocco-Fi ... 002IT6X0C/ . Usually I home roast and the beans go in. If I buy roasted beans, I leave them in the bag, squish out remaining air after use and then place them in a jar. Probably overkill but I have the jars.

Marvin

SpromoSapiens

#4: Post by SpromoSapiens »