Help dialing in a new grinder

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
rufusmcd

#1: Post by rufusmcd »

Hi,
I am a newbie trying to get serious about my shots. I started with a Starbucks Barista espresso machine and grinder. I depressurized my portafilter to gain a better technique. My shots were coming out way too fast no matter how hard I tamped. After not being able to get a fine enough grind. I ordered a Bartaza Vario. I received it two days ago. Even after setting the grind as close as I feel comfortable(I can hear the motor laboring a good bit and I don't want to damage the burrs) I am still getting fast shots. The beans I am using are store bought. I am using them just to dial in the grinder. I have ordered a Crossland CC1. It is on its way but I would have thought that a Baratza Vario would have choked a Starbucks Barista machine. I do have some more beans that I roasted myself. Will those make a difference? Can I go even finer with the grinder? The macro slider in all the way up to fine and the micro is on G(about 3/4 of the way up). I have watched videos on calibrating the Vario and from what I can tell it is about where it is supposed to be. When I looked at the grind it looked like powder. Any help will be greatly appreciated!! Thanks in advance!!

varnex

#2: Post by varnex »

You still have some room for adjustment on the Vario. As long as you have beans in your hopper, the burrs won't ever touch. Don't worry about the labouring sounds, I'm sure you're safe to set the grind finer.

Alternatively, you can adjust your dose higher to slow down the shot flow.

Advertisement
Ben_VC

#3: Post by Ben_VC »

I have struggled to dial in store-bought beans. My symptoms have been controlled but too-fast flow changing to channeling/gushers when I grind finer. Fresh beans made all the difference. This happened with my Vario and with my old Sunbeam grinder as well.