First espresso consistently great, successive sour

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
SxxB

#1: Post by SxxB »

I need help to solve a mystery. Im a a newbie to the espresso scene, but live in NYC where great coffee shops are plentiful, so I know what a good espresso should taste like. And with my bdb 920xl and Baratza Vario grinder I can make a consistently great espresso/cappuccino lately .... But with one caveat. The first espresso that I make is great. But every consecutive one is sour. I am dosing coffee and output consistently, and tamping consistently and extractions are consistent in terms of flow and time.

As far as I can guess, it has to be either the grinder does something different on consecutive grinds, perhaps due to hotter burrs..... Or my bdb runs cold on consecutive shots (about 1 min between shots). Has anyone experienced something similar? Any ideas or suggestions?

Ps. I may try waiting longer between shots to see if it is temp recovery time issue.

TomC
Team HB

#2: Post by TomC »

Sounds like it could definitely be a temp issue. But the 920 is at least as temp stable or more so than even a GS3 apparently. Did this come on all the sudden? What do you mean by "doing wet" ( I assume just a typo) ? Filming? Do you mean observing the layer of crema on top of the shot?

I can essentially guarantee you it's not your burrs heating up, not in a low use home environment, especially on only the second shot.

If the shot isn't flowing faster on the second shot compared to the first, then it's not likely a goof somewhere in the grinder holding its setting.

Also, if you haven't seen this link, it's super helpful.

Espresso 101: How to Adjust Dose and Grind Setting by Taste

You should have no trouble pulling excellent shots with that gear, over and over.
Join us and support Artisan Roasting Software=https://artisan-scope.org/donate/

another_jim
Team HB

#3: Post by another_jim »