Extraction changes drastically, without changing anything

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
danbord

#1: Post by danbord »

Hi,

as a newbie, I've watched all the "newbie introduction 1010 videos" videos provided on this site (thank you for that by the way, they are great). I have a Breville 870XL and seems like I'm able to get good results from it (from my perspective).

For the last couple of days, everything was fine and was getting a good extraction. So I kept going with the same settings (same beans, same grind setting, same quantity, same tamp pressure ).

But since yesterday,it started clogging the machine at the point where only a couple drops coming out. I really need to lower the tamp pressure for coffee to come out.

I know I'm a sinner not using the best beans around (I use beans from a big costco bag). But how come that all of a sudden my extraction changes drastically like that without changing anything?

Thanks

heavyduty

#2: Post by heavyduty »

Could be just a change in the weather/atmosphere/humidity. I wouldn't change your tamp pressure, it is better to keep your tamp consistent. Just loosen up your grind slightly (grind coarser) and no worries! :D
Tomorrow came sooner than expected.

Paul

danbord (original poster)

#3: Post by danbord (original poster) replying to heavyduty »

Thank you heavyduty, I will try to change the grind setting to see if the result improves :)

erik82

#4: Post by erik82 »

More humid air = grind coarser.
More dry air = grind finer.

Coffee is hygroscopic, so that it tends to absorb moisture, therefore creating a "tighter pack." in humid weather compared to dry weather.

Humidity can give large changes in grind settings. This is true unless you have really big burrs 80mm+ flat or 68mm+ conical). Especially titan conicals tend to keep their settings better when weather changes.

Zendel

#5: Post by Zendel »