Espresso OK, Latte = Earth water!

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
surreal

#1: Post by surreal »

Hey everyone!

Noobie here getting into espresso. I've been to nearly every coffee shop in my town and taken a liking to espresso based drinks. Particularly lattes.. I know I know, maddening! Right? Personally, I love the way the milk and coffee go together for a very enjoyable product.

Fast forward, I've done a ton of research and have my own equipment now. A refurb gaggia classic from WLL (Side note.. bad experience. Came with unplugged internals and no support response!) with OPV mod set directly to 10 bar. I've even got the rancilio wand on it. Have a shiny new LeLit PL53, which I LOVE, as well as I picked up a Mazzer Mini locally for a good price and have replaced the burrs.

Short story - I can pull an acceptable shot of espresso without the distinct sour/bitter notes. Im not a pro, but have probably pulled enough shots consecutively to kill a cow while testing. However, any time I add frothed milk I just end up with this bland drink that taste can only be described as dirt or earth water. It does not retain the wonderful espresso flavors that the milk based drinks from local shops do.

I hope someone knows that taste and feels my pain. It doesnt matter if I heat the milk less, more, etc - end up with the same earthy product. Could my frothing be to blame?

Additional details. I am using local and freshly roasted beans from a known roaster that makes good stuff. FWIW, have tried other beans with same result.
Im dosing into my PF and placing it on an AWS scale to 18g consistently. Then I pull my shot, weighing it over the scale while pulled until ~30g weight, working to align this to about 25-30 second time.