Espresso extraction starts off slow then too fast

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
ForzaItalia1

#1: Post by ForzaItalia1 »

Hello,

Newbie here. I just purchased a used Nuova Simonelli Oscar with a San Marco grinder. I am having a tough time making the perfect shot and already wasted 1 kilo of lavazza super creme beans!

I think i finally got the perfect grind level....the shot starts flowing at 5 seconds at a good rate but then it starts flowing way too fast and comes out watery.

Anyone know what may be the issue here?

Thanks!
Italia

bean2friends

#2: Post by bean2friends »

You are experiencing stale beans. Try some beans that are roasted within the last week and that say so on the bag. Many of the roasters listed on this web site as favorites ship fresh roasted beans that work out well. Many folks order several bags at once, or even a 5 pound bag to spread the shipping costs out and then freeze what they aren't using immediately.

jfrescki

#3: Post by jfrescki »

Here is The List of Our Favorite Roasters topic compiled over several years. It's best to order over the weekend for a Monday roast, you'll have your coffee by mid to late week. Then either use it, or freeze in mason jars if you ordered in bulk. It will be easier starting out if you use fresh beans, however it's not impossible to get a good shot out of Italian Bar beans. They're blended, roasted and packed in such a way that they can be useable months after roasting. See 2 Month Old Kimbo from Italy produces great espresso, I'm confused..

Freezing Coffee Part Two.

Also, "Super Creme" beans is going to have a high Robusta percentage, which will give your shot "super crema" and a very earthy flavor, bordering on "burnt tire", which may or may not be to your liking.
Write to your Congressman. Even if he can’t read, write to him.
- Will Rogers

ForzaItalia1 (original poster)

#4: Post by ForzaItalia1 (original poster) »

Thanks all!