Brewed weight- rule of thumb help!

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
LandonRoscoe

#1: Post by LandonRoscoe »

Hi All

I need some help!! I am a newbie and am having a very difficult time trying to extract a good shot. I have gone through lots of beans. I am trying to eliminate as many variables as possible. I see varying opinions on % of brewed weight to dose weight. I have heard 1.5 times the dose weight (18 g to 27 g) and also 50% brewed weight to dose (18 g to 36 g). I am trying to keep as consistent as possible (18g dose, 26-27 sec brew time). I can't seem to pull consistent shots that aren't overly sour or bitter. I don't think I got one decent shot out of my last 3/4 lb bag.

I am using a Rancilio Silvia and Rocky grinder. Beans are fresh.

The roaster has provided general brewing recommendations on their site- see below. Doesn't seem to match either 1.5 /50% for dose to brew weight.

Dose: 18-22 grams
Brew Water Temp: 199-201 F / 93-94 C
Brew Time: 25-30 seconds
Brewed Volume/Weight: 1.5-1.75 oz / 30-35 grams

I am not sure what else to do in order to get some consistency or for that matter 1 good pull.

Thank you!!

Advertisement
Bikeminded

#2: Post by Bikeminded »

I beat my head against the wall for 6 weeks with a Rocky before I saw the light and bought a good grinder. Chalk that up to an expensive learning mistake. They're built like a tank and probably make a good brew grinder, but not fit for espresso. If you don't have a naked PF, I'd recommend getting one and you will quickly see the problems. I could NOT get any kind of consistency with a Rocky.

weebit_nutty

#3: Post by weebit_nutty »

Start with two balls. Once you've mastered them, then you can start juggling. Same goes for coffee. If you start out worrying about every single variable you are bound to fail every time.

Start with the grounds as your first variable. Get the shot time down to 25-30 seconds.