Brew/Extraction Ratios for Double Espressos

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
DanseMacabre

#1: Post by DanseMacabre »

Hi everyone,

newbie here that is looking for some advice. Like many newbies, I am using a rancilio silvia and rocky. I've been trying to "dial in" my equipment, and I've been reading up on brew ratios a lot. I love the idea of using dry weight/shot weight to measure pulls as an extraction %. Seems to make sense. Whether or not these are the accepted values, I've been using the following ratios, originally posted by Andy, as a comparison:
60-140% Ristretto
40-60% Normale
27-40 % Lungo

I've also read many suggestions that, although this is a good way to discuss espresso, other variables like time need to be considered. With all of this in mind, I set out to test my equipment and collect some data. I used a digital scale to take all weight measurements, and I temperature surfed the silvia by expelling steam from the group immediately upon the light turning off and then counting 4-one thousand. I used a La Marzzoco double basket (not ridge-less). My intention was to manipulate 1 variable at time. I figured grind setting should be first. So most of these data are based on 18g in the double basket. I did however, varying the dosage on a few trials. All shots were pulled for exactly 25 seconds, and I applied 30lbs of tamp pressure via bathroom scale. I used a double spout portafilter for all. Here is the data, and the variables reading from left to right are:

Grind Setting dry weight shot weight approx. vol brew ratio

2 14g 35g 1.0 oz 40%
3 18g 19g 0.75 oz 94%
3 18g 20g 0.75 oz 90%
4 14g 62g 2.0 oz 22%
4 14g 61g 2.0 oz 23%
4 18g 32g 1.0 oz 56%
4 18g 34g 1.0 oz 53%
5 18g 47g 1.5 oz 38%
5 18g 53g 1.75 oz 34%
5 20g 29g 1.0 oz 69%
6 18g 53g 1.8 oz 34%
6 18g 58g 2.0 oz 31%