Beginner barista -- shots always sour -- no idea what I'm doing

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
spuriousdata

#1: Post by spuriousdata »

I've been drinking espresso for many years (more than fifteen) and I've owned a super-automatic machine (jura E8) for the last six or seven. I recently decided to "upgrade" to a semi-auto machine. I bought a Baratza Vario and a Rocket Cellini Classic. Now everything that I do on these machines creates sour shots. I've read tons of info, watched tons of videos, and tried everything that I could find to fix this. I've tried grinding finer, I've tried grinding coarser, I've tried more coffee, less coffee, harder tamp, lighter tamp, start-dumping, dark-stopping, center-cutting, pulling a blank shot to cool the water down, running the hot water valve to heat the water up, timing the shots, ignoring the timer, etc.

The shots are ALWAYS sour. I got the machine on Jan 2, and I've pulled around 30-40 shots through it. Of those I've probably been able to drink two. The coffees that I've tried, in order, are "Velton's Bonsai Blend" (which came free with the machine from seattlecoffeegear.com), Starbucks Espresso beans (because I ran out of Velton's), and now PT's Southpaw. All except the starbucks were fresh roasted.

At this point i'm starting to doubt my own judgement, starting to think that perhaps I don't know what espresso is supposed to taste like. Also, I hate to admit this, but the "best" of the shots that I pulled were from the Starbucks beans.

allon

#2: Post by allon »

spuriousdata wrote:I've tried grinding finer, I've tried grinding coarser, I've tried more coffee, less coffee, harder tamp, lighter tamp, start-dumping, dark-stopping, center-cutting, pulling a blank shot to cool the water down, running the hot water valve to heat the water up, timing the shots, ignoring the timer, etc.
Why do you think running the hot water valve will heat the water up?