Beautiful, rich, and exceedingly bitter espresso

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Jenady

#1: Post by Jenady »

I am very new to espresso brewing. Now I am trying to find some consistency with my equipment. I am using a Expobar Brewtus IV-R and a Compak K10 Professional Barista. Using information from this forum I can usually get drinkable shots but not predictably. I am single dosing by weight into VST baskets and a bottomless portafilter. I also have a thermocouple and digital temperature display in the group head (existing screw hole) just above the screen.

Here is my current problem. I have Red Bird Espresso beans one week off roast. I have the temperature set for 198 degrees above the screen. I am pulling shots of about 34 grams from 20 grams of coffee in a 18 gram basket in 20 seconds. I have to shut it down at 20 seconds because my cup is full of crema.

At this temperature and speed I expect under extracted shots. What I am getting is a beautiful, rich, and exceedingly bitter (over extracted?) shot.

I suspect that problem with consistency may be that I do not understand this. It seems to need a finer grind and/or lower temperature. Red Bird suggests 198-200 degrees and 25-30 seconds. I am already at or actually lower than 198. Grinding finer should cause even more extraction.

What do I have wrong?

Advertisement
another_jim
Team HB

#2: Post by another_jim »

Bitter is not usually over-extracted, it's usually under-extracted -- a sign you haven't extracted enough caramels to balance the flavors. Redbird lacks a lot of inherent sweetness and uses a Brazil with an extremely sharp finish, so it is best to drop the dose, or to use a triple and grind it very fine.