Another bitter espresso thread but...

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
kidloco

#1: Post by kidloco »

It should be simple, if bitter grind coarser to get faster flow or-and pull longer... If that does not help than its is to hot... and that should be that?

I have Butterfly Levetta NEW E61 HX machine, and mazzer mini with a year old burrs, should make decent espresso right? I am using Ethiopia Yirgacheffe, light roast, pulling doubles with 12-13grams dosage. Shots are bitter, unless I adjust grind to give me 24-26grams in 15 seconds. That should not be right?

You will say "how does it taste"? Well not bad, not bad at all, but I am no professional taster... And I never heard that 15 second shot could be sweet spot for espresso?

I flush until I get steady stream from spout, wait 15-25 seconds and pull shot. I flush around 200ml of water, do not have thermometer so I do not now if I am brewing too hot but I do not think so, and lighter roasts need to be pulled a little hotter yes?

So I can get shots that are not bitter but only on price of pulling 15 shots and go way past blonding point... What I am doing wrong?

LukeFlynn

#2: Post by LukeFlynn »

Could be that dose with that coffee. I always go a bit higher (16-18) for Yirgs. Also, I tend to go for a lower temp for Yirgs (195 or so).. really enjoyed Idido that way. Also, try pulling a longer shot.. (30-35 seconds?)

brianl

#3: Post by brianl replying to LukeFlynn »

Im dying to know what your yirgs taste like. i'm the opposite at a lower dose (15 for me) and hotter temperature (203ish). And shorter than usual.

This is the textbook question. Are you sure its bitter and not sour? plenty of people confuse the two.

kidloco (original poster)

#4: Post by kidloco (original poster) »