Am I overextracting my espresso?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
MikePriz

#1: Post by MikePriz »

So this will be my first post on HB, and I'm also new to making espresso at home.

I'm using a Vario and Gaggia New Baby (in hindsight I wish I would've went for the classic so I can adjust the OPV, but will have to deal with it for now). And before anyone asks, yes I'm using a normal basket and not the pressured one.

I'm using fresh locally roasted coffee (<10 days from roast), and can pull a 30g shot from 18g coffee in 30-32 seconds.

I'm liking the shots, but feel that the taste could be better. Could I be overextracting the shot? I'm only guessing this can be the case because of the dark spots on the crema (take a look at the image). I noticed that I get a few pencil lead sized holes in the puck, which I believe is a sign of channeling - but wouldn't that mean I'm underextracting?

Any thoughts?

Thanks!
Mike

cannonfodder
Team HB

#2: Post by cannonfodder »

No image, but that aside, tiger flaking is actually a good thing if that is what you are getting. Looking at the puck after the shot is about useless. It will not tell you much unless it is something grossly wrong with the shot or machine. Remember after your shot, the 3-way solenoid opens to vent the brew pressure. You go from 130psi to 0 in a fraction of a second. That tends to disrupt the puck when the air sucks back up through it.

Channeling will over extract and under extract. You will under extract most of the puck with over extraction where the channeling occurs. The only real way to know is to use a bottomless portafilter and see what is happening especially being new at the process.

30 grams from 18g of coffee is a very tight shot. That is just over an ounce extracted which is solidly in the ristretto range. For more information on extraction ratio's it may be worth looking at this.

Brewing ratios for espresso beverages