Al's Rule, brew ratio, and the variable I'm missing?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
YouRang87

#1: Post by YouRang87 »

Newbie here/1st post/ hello HB!! Real quick about myself, I worked as a barista for about 4 years, mom and pop shop, not bucks. All my training was mostly about different milk based drinks and good frothing with not much emphasis on good espresso. I feel confident making many different drinks. I don't work as a barista anymore, and I am now a real HB. Milk hurts my stomach, and to be honest I don't like it, my true passion is straight espresso and the journey to brew greatness. Using this site I have educated myself on als rule and brew ratio "awesome chart!" But I believe I am missing a Variable if you would. Set up- Gaggia Classic, and of course I cut corners and have a hand grinder, very fine but not powder.

MY QUESTIONS- using ratios I have brewed around 30 percent lungo range in 35 seconds making a lil over 2 ounces. I have brewed in the 50/60 percent range in 30ish seconds yielding a lil under 2 ounces. I have not played around with ristretto yet. Note: double shots here using 16 to 18 grams on a scale. I feel like maybe I am getting conflicting info.