Almost There - Latte Art

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
pbleic

#1: Post by pbleic »

I am almost there with latte art. I have been making espresso for over 20 years, but never worried much about latte art. With a new machine (Quick Mill Vetrano 2B), I have decided to make this work. I have read everything I can and watched every video I can. I am pretty sure I am able to reliably make microfoam milk. I start high with a thinner stream, and fill the cappuccino cup half way, then move down and get the first white foam on top. I then swing my wrist back and forth. Instead of those nice thin and even arcs, I am getting irregular ones. When I move closer to the side and swing across the cup, the result looks like a wilted rosetta or a rosetta on acid.

Can someone tell me how to get those smooth arcs that seem to move away from the pour so gracefully. Is it just "practice, practice, practice?"

LukeFlynn

#2: Post by LukeFlynn »

While a lot of it is practice, there are certainly techniques that help.

If you haven't, check out this awesome video by ChefSteps that really focuses on positioning and proper pouring techniques.
I've been doing latte art for about a year (I didn't steam much milk until I got an HX last december) this is where I'm at now (Granted this photo is kind of old because I don't feel like taking one lol):

It certainly didn't start off that decent though, all the way to May of this year I was pouring rosettas like this (I prefer tulips now)

The trend for me has been slowly get ok at pouring hearts, then get better, and better within a shorter amount of time. Once you get the feel for it and it doesn't feel so strange it becomes a lot easier.

Advertisement
Beezer

#3: Post by Beezer »