25 sec brewing and a poor crema. Help

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
FOCKER

#1: Post by FOCKER »

Hello, my name is Bernardo and I'm writing from Argentina
i'm new in the espresso world and i'm still learning. I already read the Home-Barista's Guide To Espresso and 6 month ago I bought an used a machine made in Argentina From a Brand call: LaValente model Bambina Is a single boiler machine with a build up grinder , very similar to the Rancilio Silvia and Rocky Grinder with a little differences. The portafilter is a non standard. size the filter basket is 61 mm diameter and I use a 60 mm tamper that i made myself (I'm a Mechanical Engineer) and the steam valve is commanded by a lever instead knob handle. The rest is the same ulka vibration pump, 300ml boiler, opv valve.
I made it the proper maintenance, change all the seals, readjust the ovp valve to 10 bars using a portafilter with a manometer, i checked the temperature brewing that's on 93°C. Everything is as suppose to be
I dose correct, I tamp with 15Kg(30lb) of pressure and the extraction goes to 25 ml in 25 sec but i have a poor crema an dissipate right away
what could i possible doing wrong? could it be the grinder burrs? i never changed that. or maybe the tamper gap? (1 mm)

Please Help i'm lost

I'm trying to add some pictures of the machine so u can see it

Ps: I hope you understand my bad English

LA VALENTE BAMBINA

Bob_McBob

#2: Post by Bob_McBob »

What coffee are you using, and when was it roasted?

Here is a link to your machine on the manufacturer's web site:

La Valente Bambina con molino incorporado
Chris

FOCKER (original poster)

#3: Post by FOCKER (original poster) »

Used several national Brands even starbuck's Verona. Now i'm using one named CAFÉ FUNDAOR Elite 100% Arabica mid-roasted i opened the bag yesterday

JmanEspresso

#4: Post by JmanEspresso »

Thats the problem, your coffee is stale.