Replacing Contactor with SSR in La Marzocco Linea Classic

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
tomr

#1: Post by tomr »

Hi there,

I'm a tech in Portland Oregon. I work on commercial machines and have a few Linea Classics on my bench at any given time. I was at EXPO this weekend and was talking with a fellow technician that mentioned replacing the contactor with a SSR in my Linea rebuilds. Besides getting rid of the annoying thumping of the contactor, what purpose would this serve and what are possible risks (if any)? Also, does anyone have a wiring diagram they've found helpful?

*Disclaimer* I've only been a tech for a couple years and come from a coffee background, not technical. And the electrical side of things is my greatest weakness so all helpful information is welcomed.

trumz

#2: Post by trumz »

I used an SSR for the steam boiler on a Linea that I run in a café. Going strong now for alomost one year. You can see how I wired it here in post 29:
La Marzocco Linea 2AV overhaul project

I got the idea from Paul Pratt. He has lots of good info and pics on his website. Here are pics of his SSR instalation on a Linea:
http://espresso-restorations.com/1GLinea3.html

I hope other will shime in with more usefull insights. I am learning as I go aswell!

tomr (original poster)

#3: Post by tomr (original poster) »

Thanks trumz! Your rebuild is one I came across and already screen shot your wiring diagram; very helpful. And thanks for the link to Paul Pratt, should prove helpful.

boost

#4: Post by boost »

The contactor is actually part of a safety system on the Linea. One major disadvantage of SSR is that it will most likely fail closed, it means that in case of failure it will continue to conduct electricity regardless of of whatever being commanded.