Struggling to get berry notes from my DP Ethiopia Harrar

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
cerone

#1: Post by cerone »

I'm getting super frustrated that I can't seem to get any blueberry notes out of this DP Ethiopia Harrar I got from Happy Mug recently.

I've been roasting for about 6-8 months on a Behmor 1600+, probably have somewhere between 75-100 roasts under my belt. I'm certainly no expert but I like to think I have some sort of an idea what I'm doing. I've done loads of reading online as well as Rao's book about roasting fundamentals as well as techniques specific to DP Ethiopians.

Unfortunately the Behmor has no BT probe so I'm going a little blind.

My understanding is that due to the variations in size/ moisture content, it's generally good to draw out the drying phase in order to help with a more uniform/ boisterous 1C. I've tried stretching the drying phase and also have tried going full power all the way up through 1C and dropping immediately.

I'll typically preheat my Behmor somewhere between 150-165 ET (no drum inside). I'll measure out my beans, put them in the drum and quickly install the drum in the roaster (5 seconds). I'll typically roast in manual mode at about 50% power for 3-5 minutes (double drum speed) and then go 100% power until 1C starts rolling (around 10:00 +/- 1:00 depending on the roast), then I'll dial back to 25% power to allow for some development time as 1C slows down, as soon as 1C stops I typically press the cool cycle, open the door, and blow a fan in. My beans are typically cool to the touch within 2-3 minutes. I always use 240g of beans and consistently end up with about 207-209g after the roast. Right at 13% loss which is where I think I should be for a light fruit forward roast.