Huky and gas vs airflow

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
hoangelos

#1: Post by hoangelos »

So, I have been roasting for over 4 years, and of late on a Gene Cafe. It's recently had a heater problem, and I'm considering upgrading to a Huky to take my next trip deeper down the rabbit hole. I've started to read all that I can on the forum and educate myself. So, there's some confusion I have trying to learn more about how to roast coffee best on the Huky. There's a lot of focus on adjustability in the fan. However, there's not really as much discussion with adjustability and measurability with the gas.

I was watching an old video on airflow in different model roasters put out by Chris at Coffee Shrub a while ago (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nOcSIkLloRQ). I would interpret this to mean that we should focus more on adjustability and controlling the roast with the burners on the Huky and less with the airflow (but not no adjustment with airflow.

So, leads to a question on ideally, I'd love to connect my airflow rate and gas pressure to the burner to artisan. I've seen efforts on the air pressure, but not a lot of talk on the gas pressure, and that's what I'd think is the most important. I mean if you have MET, I see you can see an indirect correlation with what you are doing with the burners, but it would be great to get the whole picture.

day

#2: Post by day »

hoangelos wrote:So, I have been roasting for over 4 years, and of late on a Gene Cafe. It's recently had a heater problem, and I'm considering upgrading to a Huky to take my next trip deeper down the rabbit hole. I've started to read all that I can on the forum and educate myself. So, there's some confusion I have trying to learn more about how to roast coffee best on the Huky. There's a lot of focus on adjustability in the fan. However, there's not really as much discussion with adjustability and measurability with the gas.