Affording coffee as a hobby - Page 3

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
peacecup

#21: Post by peacecup »

I appreciate Marshall's advice - if you are interested in sampling and learning about the varieties of coffees and taste, he is spot on.

If you are interested in espresso, however, don't be afraid to start with a basic kit for learning about the process. I started with a simple Saeco machine and hand grinder, and enjoyed it thoroughly for a couple of years before moving on to home lever machines. Espresso-making is an enjoyable journey in itself for those who allow themselves to love the process.

I just pulled my first AM cappuccino with a vintage second hand grinder I've been using for 10 years ($10), paired with a 2nd hand lever machine I purchased for £100 from and HB mate. No scale, refractometer, just the three of us, grinder, lever, and me. The taste was out of this world - as good or better than most cafes. The experience as always one of the most sublime ways to start the day.
LMWDP #049
Hand-ground, hand-pulled: "hands down.."

bluesman

#22: Post by bluesman »

peacecup wrote:If you are interested in espresso, however, don't be afraid to start with a basic kit for learning about the process.