Temperature problem on E61 espresso machine

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
musica

#1: Post by musica »

Hello,

I haven't been able to pull a decent shot in a long time on my father's E61-based machine, a Fiorenzato Bricoletta Volante (which after being serviced multiple times is more Bezzera now than Fiorenzato by the way). The shots always end up underextracted, pale and rather lukewarm, which made me suspect a temperature problem. I tried descaling it for a few hours using Dezcal (as far as I know, the machine has never been properly descaled after several years of daily use -- yes, I know...) but that didn't help much. The water temperature right out of the group is 68°C, and the water coming directly out of the water wand is around 92°C, which would indicate it's not nearly hot enough in the boiler. Yet, surprisingly, the pressurestat shows 1.2 bars.

Since I'm no expert and had practically never opened a machine before I started trying to fix that thing, I would appreciate any pointers you could have.

nuketopia

#2: Post by nuketopia »

There could be a slight leak going on - somewhere.

Pressure and temperature are directly related. If the steam boiler is 1.2 bar, you should have very good steam from the wand, ample, strong and dry steam. If it is weak, or it depletes quickly, the water level in your boiler may be too high. The water sensing probe could be scaled or misadjusted. The fill point is critical in that it has to completely cover the heating coil, but you need enough space above it to have a good steam area. If it is too low, then the heat exchange tube may not fully heat the brew water.