La Pavoni Europiccola Single Shots: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly [video]

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
pcroque

#1: Post by pcroque »

I just got a Cafelat bottomless portafilter for my Europiccola Millenium. Trying to improve my single shots and finding that it really depends on the beans.

Here are some examples for your enjoyment. Comments are welcome since I'm new at reading the pour from the bottomless portafilter and need all the help I can get.

First the Good: 7.1g of Ottolina Maracaibo approximately 3 weeks past the roast date.
Now the Bad (or "less good"): 7.2g of Kimbo Extra Crema roasted approximately 7 months ago.
And finally, the Ugly: 7.3g of Illy Medium Roast (red can) with an expiration date of 07/2017.

smayfein

#2: Post by smayfein »

Hi: My Pavoni needs service. Can you recommend a pro to assist? Thanks, smayfein

mrtwobits

#3: Post by mrtwobits »

It's hard for me to tell because I only make doubles, but the shots seem to blonde very early. (Maybe I'm wrong because I don't make singles.) The tiger-striping looks great on the first two.

Ever since I started using the MCAL double baskets, I get more spritzers and uneven flow. I'm using 16 grams of a medium roast in the basket.

mrtwobits

#4: Post by mrtwobits »

smayfein wrote:Hi: My Pavoni needs service. Can you recommend a pro to assist? Thanks, smayfein
You should probably start a new thread for this question.

HoldTheOnions

#5: Post by HoldTheOnions »

Singles are notoriously hard to pull on some machines, I might do some doubles and see how that goes.

nickw

#6: Post by nickw »

You have to use fresh coffee. Three weeks is already past optimal imho.

Depending on the coffee, day 3-10 is a good range, with things usually peaking between day 5-7.
Before day 3, you may have to much problem with off-gassing.
After day 10-12 (or there abouts) you probably find the flavour starts to drop off.