Nuova Simonelli Aurelia - Measuring brew temperature

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
kevindouglas4130

#1: Post by kevindouglas4130 »

Hi guys,

I am new to coffee and have a 2011 aurelia. i have been finding to hard to get the most out of my coffee. My espressos seemed to be a bit cold. The boiler gauge was set at 1.2 ish bar as thats meant to be 92.5 degrees Celsius at the group. I used a thermopen to measure the temp it was only 80, i have upped the pressure stat and now i get 90-92 coming out. i know this is not a great way to measure but how else can i know if im getting the right brew temp. without buying a scace thermometer?

Many thanks

Kevin

wearashirt

#2: Post by wearashirt replying to kevindouglas4130 »

On using a meat thermometer/milk steaming thermometer, one just has to continuously bathe it in group water in an insulated container. You'll get close to 90-92.

Assuming our HXs are similarly built, 1-1.2 reading on the boiler pressure already gives something scaldingly hot. (I know this through experience...)

If you describe your circumstances in greater detail, I can give more insight. :)

HB
Admin

#3: Post by HB »

kevindouglas4130 wrote:i know this is not a great way to measure but how else can i know if im getting the right brew temp. without buying a scace thermometer?
You can get reasonably accurate readings with a foam cup. From Seeking low tech way to measure brew temperature in the FAQ:
barry wrote:foam cup method: