Convert Mac Elle spring lever to direct lever - Page 2

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
yakster
Supporter ♡

#11: Post by yakster »

Who's going to do the math on the force required for the Mac Elle?

Computing brew pressure of direct lever espresso machines
-Chris

LMWDP # 272

pizzaman383
Supporter ❤

#12: Post by pizzaman383 »

If you're set on this conversion you could possibly swap out the group head with a direct lever. Do you know the bolt pattern of the group head? Generally, the bolt patterns of the commercial groups are bigger than the direct-lever groups but you might be able to make an adapter.
Curtis
LMWDP #551
“Taste every shot before adding milk!”

cuppajoe

#13: Post by cuppajoe »

jritorto wrote:I just want to feel it with my own hands. I'm an automation guy by trade, so I (perhaps ironically) bristle at the notion of having machines do my entire job for me and utterly remove me from the process. On this machine, I'm not able to control the lever during pulls -- the linkage detaches during extraction. At design time, an engineer apparently decided that the human should be utterly removed from this part of the process in the name of consistency or something. While arguably good for *bucks, et al, this generally offends my artisan sensibilities quite a lot. But this is just my opinion and of course I do respect yours. We can still be friends even if we disagree and I promise not to carpet bomb your country or anything if we don't share all the same opinions.
Try and find some vids of a busy Italian cafe using a lever and you might understand the reasoning behind the commercial spring lever. No nefarious plot to eliminate the human factor at all, quite the opposite as the barista is usually busier than a one armed paper hanger. The design criteria was to enable a shop to service a line of customers in the pre pump days. And yes, the companies that manufacture these things do want 'bucks' to facilitate continued operation.